Volunteer Scholarship

Funds raised by volunteers are used for several purposes, one of which is the Johnston Health Volunteer Scholarship. Rules for awarding the scholarship are:

  1. The Johnston Health Volunteer Council will decide the number of scholarships to be given each year and the amount to be awarded.
  2. Each recipient must be a resident of Johnston County or an adjacent county.
  3. The scholarship is a one-time award.
  4. Scholarships will be awarded to candidates pursuing a health care profession.
  5. The scholarship will be awarded to those with a 3.0 GPA or higher. Copies of school academic records must be sent from guidance counselors or other school representatives directly to the scholarship committee.
  6. Scholarships will also be based on the financial needs of the applicants.
  7. Each applicant will explain their need for financial assistance, their participation in extracurricular activities and their work-related experience in a letter to the scholarship committee.  The letter must be included with the completed application.
  8. Two letters of recommendation are required and must also be sent with the completed application.
  9. Scholarships will be based on:
    • Academic records
    • Financial need
    • Extracurricular activities
    • Work ethic
  10. Checks will be made payable to the scholarship recipient and to the school where the candidate has been accepted.  A copy of an acceptance letter from the candidate’s institution of choice must be included with the completed application.  If for any reason, the student does not attend or drops out of school the year he or she receives the scholarship, the scholarship must be returned.

Download application

Application packets must include: completed application, letter from applicant, two letters of recommendation, and a copy of the acceptance letter from the candidate’s institution of choice.

Completed application packets and official school transcripts must be received no later than April 15, 2018. Mail to:

Mary W. Britt, Scholarship Committee Chairperson
PO Box 1502
Smithfield, NC 27577