Board of Directors

Johnston Health is governed by the Johnston Health Services Corp., a 15-member board made up of the 11 former Johnston Health Board of Commissioners and the six new representatives appointed by UNC Health Care.

Johnston Health Board of Directors

Eric Janis, M.D

Dr. Janis began his term in 2014. He is a former chief of medical staff and has been part of North Carolina Heart and Vascular for 15 years.



Jeff Carver
Vice Chair

Jeff Carver of Clayton has served on the board since October 2011. He is also a Johnston County commissioner, currently serving as chairman. He works as a commercial banking manager at First Citizens Bank..


Richard Alioto, M.D.
Dr. Richard Alioto is chief of the medical staff at Johnston Health. He is an orthopedic surgeon, and has been practicing in Johnston County since 1997. .




Linda ButlerLinda Butler, M.D.
Dr. Linda Butler is the vice president of medical affairs and the chief medical officer for Rex Healthcare. Prior to becoming part of Rex’s executive team, she practiced pediatrics in Wake County for 14 years. .



Chris Ellington
Chris Ellington has been a board member since 2014. He joined UNC Health Care in 2008 and is the executive vice president and chief financial officer for UNC Hospitals and the chief financial officer for system affiliations for UNC Health Care.



Ted Godwin
Ted Godwin is a Johnston County Commissioner, currently serving as vice chair. He is a retired senior vice president of KS Bank. He was elected to the county board in 2012. In county government, he’s involved in regional transportation planning, veterans services and services for the aged. He is a member of Central Johnston Rotary, and serves as a deacon at Micro First Baptist Church.

010195_5X7_JENKINS_JAMES_2010_09_23Jim Jenkins
Jim Jenkins of Four Oaks has served on the board since September 2010. He is a former chairman of the Johnston Health Foundation and the retired owner of Brogden Mills, Inc.



Koffer, DennisDennis Koffer, M.D.
Dr. Koffer joined the board in 2014. Dr. Koffer is a former chief of the medical staff and has been a surgeon for 35 years. He currently serves as the medical director for Johnston Home Care and Hospice.



Park, GaryGary Park
Gary Park began his term in 2014. He has served as president of UNC Hospitals since March 2004. In addition, he is responsible for Rex Healthcare and other affiliated hospitals in the UNC Health Care System network.



Marilyn Pearson, M.D.
Dr. Marilyn Pearson has been director of the Johnston County Public Health Department since 2005, and supervisor of the agency’s physicians and mid-level providers since 1998. In the community, she serves on several committees and boards, including Project Access and the Johnston County Partnership for Children. In 2015, she was named NC Health Director of the Year. And in 2014, the Johnston County branch of the NAACP honored her with its Trumpet of Conscience Legacy Award.

Scovil, JohnJohn Scovil
John Scovil of Smithfield has been a member of the board since October 2007. He works as a certified public accountant.




David Mills
David Mills joined the board in 2018. A native of Eastern North Carolina, he is the owner of David F. Mills, P.A. David earned his college and law school degrees from Campbell University. He resides in Smithfield with his wife and two children.



Bobby Parker
Bobby Parker of Clayton, a general contractor, has served on the hospital board for 14 years, three of those as chairman. Following a one-year break in service, he was reappointed in 2018 to another term. He is also a member of the UNC REX board.



Terry Rose
Terry F. Rose of Pine Level, a lawyer and a nurse, joined the board in 2017. Since 1980, she has worked with several hospitals across eastern North Carolina as a staff nurse and nurse educator. She has also taught nursing and served on the faculties of community colleges in Wake, Nash and Edgecombe counties.